The Best Part of Summer…

S7305426

… is planting flowers and watching them grow. I got a late start this year, but this is how my yard is shaping up so far.

Flowers July 3 2017S7305419S7305468S7305465-001Collages12S7305430

My yard is so shady that to get much color in it, I rely on annuals. Maybe I should rethink that, though, as the flowers that seem to do best are my perennial daylilies and rose campions, both of which bloom profusely and require little care. Plus they more or less reflect the wild, blowsy nature of my yard which, despite the fact that it isn’t as well-manicured as I’d like it to be, is still much loved. I’m in heaven when I’m outside lying on the lawn reading a book or just watching the birds. It’s the best part of summer for me — what is yours?

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn Huff says:

    Suzanne…this is so nice…all the pics turned out great, and in a couple weeks your flowers will all be in glorious, full bloom….so enjoyable!!!

    On Tue, Jul 4, 2017 at 3:20 PM The Curious Rarebit wrote:

    > Suzanne Keller posted: ” … is planting flowers and watching them grow. I > got a late start year, but this is how my yard is shaping up so far. My > yard is so shady that to get much color in it, I rely on annuals. Maybe I > should rethink that, though, as the flowers that seem ” >

    Like

    1. Suzanne says:

      Thank you, Mom. They could use a boost of sunshine — it has rained a lot over the past couple weeks, but tomorrow is supposed to be nice so they’ll get some much needed sunlight vitamins. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

