If You Could Meet a Famous Celebrity…

jacques-pepin-and-julia-child
Jacques Pepin back in the days when he cooked with Julia Childs. French by birth and upbringing, Pepin came to the US in 1959 and eventually made his home in Connecticut. “Most people who came here came for economic reasons or sometimes for religious or political reasons. I didn’t have any of this. I came here, I liked it, I stayed. So I’m a pure American – even more than people who are born here – because I did it by choice as an adult.”

If you could meet a famous celebrity, who would it be?

I was thinking about this question for awhile, and though the obvious answer would seem to be a film star, as I watch a lot of films, I realized that in truth I would really rather meet someone I have something in common with … someone with whom I could actually have a lengthy conversation or enjoy some level of rapport. So for me, my answer is someone who is either a writer, a chef, a perfumer, or a musician (the latter, not because I write or play music, but because I think of songwriting as being a form of creative writing, making for some common ground).

Of course, part of wanting to meet a famous celebrity usually involves having a bit of a crush on that person. As such, at the top of my celebrity list is chef and author Jacques Pepin. That accent, that smile, that calm, cool and easy way he shows off his culinary skills! He’s 81 years old now, but to me he still seems vibrant and, yeah, sexy.

jacques-pepin-with-wife-gloria-before-they-were-married
Jacques Pepin, circa 1966, with his wife Gloria (before they were married). Don’t you just love the way he is looking at her?  Photo source: The Wall Street Journal
jacques-and-gloria-pepin-and-family
Jacques and Gloria Pepin with their family: daughter Claudine Pepin and her husband Rolland Wesen (also a chef) and granddaughter Shorey Wesen.

“My palate is simpler than it used to be. A young chef adds and adds and adds to the plate. As you get older, you start to take away.” —  Jacques Pepin

Leave a Reply

