Refreshing, Versatile, Simple: My Recipe for Salad Dressing

20170119_151812

Big green salads are a staple part of my dinner routine year round, and whether I’m making one for only my husband and me or for a number of guests, you won’t find me putting out bottled dressings for people to choose from. In the European style, I dress the salad before I serve it, and I always use this same dressing, which keeps my salad greens tasting flavorful yet really light (never overpowering, never gloppy). My family loves this dressing, and friends have often asked me for the recipe. It’s so easy — there are only four ingredients, and chances are you already have them on your shelf. So, without further ado, here’s how I make it!

20170119_145341

(1) Pour 2 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil into a small bowl …

 

20170119_145648

(2) Add 2 Tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar to oil …

 

20170119_145932

(3) Add 1 Tablespoon of Soy Sauce …

 

20170119_150402

(4) Add 1 Tablespoon of Honey …

 

20170119_150643

(5) Give it a stir and a taste test using the tines of a fork (that is a good way to taste dressings, as it delivers just the right amount to your palate). If you want the dressing to be brighter, add slightly more apple cider vinegar. If you want it more savory, add a little bit more soy, etc. When satisfied, whisk dressing and immediately pour onto greens. This is enough dressing for a very large salad (a salad bigger than the one I have pictured above). If your salads are smaller, use what you need and refrigerate the rest.

 

20170119_150752

This photo shows the color of the dressing and how it is always rather separated (the oil from the rest of the ingredients), which for me is not a problem. It glides over greens easily. Just whisk and pour quickly on salad (I do both at once: whisk while pouring).

 

20170119_152538

Believe it or not, it’s also great on certain fruits, like fresh pineapple. The soy sauce gives the dressing a slightly salty, balsamic taste that is a wonderful foil to the sweet and more acidic character of fresh pineapple.

Depending on what type of salad I’m making, I will make little tweaks to this dressing. For instance, in the summer I use it to marinate cucumbers and tomatoes, so I’ll often throw in some herbs, like tarragon and basil (dill would work well, too); and if I’m in the mood for a saltier dressing, I’ll add just a bit more soy sauce. Likewise, if I want a sweeter dressing, I’ll add slightly more honey.

 

20170119_153128-001

One last salad tip. Spend a little extra money and purchase Campari tomatoes (it is not a brand, but a very special type of tomato that is sweet and flavorful … much bigger than a cherry tomato, but still on the small side). They are delicious, even in winter! The important thing in purchasing them is to make sure that the package they come in is marked with the word Campari. I’ve been fooled into buying “tomatoes on the vine” that look similar but are nowhere as sweet. Nothing else comes close to these, in my opinion.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Absolutely the best!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

