Spanish Moss by Gordon Lightfoot

spanish-moss-in-charleston-south-carolina

I was looking at photos of unique trees on Pinterest this evening, and when I saw this one of oaks draped in Spanish moss in Charleston, South Carolina, it reminded me of an old Gordon Lightfoot tune my father used to like. Titled Spanish Moss, it is is a sweetly melancholic love song (melancholic because it’s about love that is lost). It’s not one of Lightfoot’s most well-known songs, which is too bad, because it’s lovely … and I’m in the mood for it after writing yesterday’s post about one of my favorite books, a Southern novel. (Come to think of it, many of my favorite books are by Southerners. They seem to be born storytellers.) At any rate, if you’d like to enjoy a listen, the video for Spanish Moss is below.

 

Leave a Reply

